CPA Requirements

The District of Columbia, otherwise known as Washington DC, requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license although you may sit for the CPA exam after earning your bachelor's degree along with the required accounting courses.  The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public or...

Wyoming requires 150 credit hours to sit for the CPA exam and obtain a CPA license. The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public accounting experience verified by an active US CPA. State residency is also required for a Wyoming CPA License.To be eligible to sit for...

Massachusetts requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam with only 120 credit hours.  The work experience requirements differ depending on whether you want a reporting or non-reporting license (see details below). With a graduate degree in accounting, business, or law, no experience...

Maryland requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning a bachelor's degree and meeting the requirements below.  The courses required by the state are very specific so it is important to pay close attention them.  The work experience requirements are...

Missouri requires state residency in order to obtain a CPA license.  The state requires 150 credit hours to sit for the CPA exam including 33 accounting credits and 27 business credits. Candidates may sit for the exam up to 60 days prior to completing the education requirements.To be eligible to sit...

Tennessee requires the 150 credit hours to sit for the CPA exam, however, CPA candidates may sit for the exam within 200 days of meeting this requirement. The work experience requirements are quite flexible and can be met by working for 1 year in a number of different industries such as finance, audit,...

South Carolina requires 150 semester hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning only 120 semester hours. The work experience requirements are more lenient than most states and allow qualifying part-time and volunteer work. International students should also note that a valid social...

In Louisiana, you must be a state resident to sit for the CPA exam or apply for a CPA license. The requirements for licensure are fairly straightforward and follow the 150 hour rule along with 1 year of qualifying work experience.To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students...

Oregon requires 150 credit hours and one year qualifying work experience to obtain a CPA license.  The work experience requirements are more lenient than most states and allow qualifying part-time work which can be signed off by a CPA or a chartered accountant if they are from Canada, Mexico, or Ireland....

Oklahoma requires 150 credit hours and 1 year of work experience in either public or non-public accounting as well as state residency to obtain a CPA license.  There are two levels of qualifications which are the CPA (Certified Public Accountant) and the PA (Public Accountant) so be careful that you choose the...

Connecticut requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning a bachelor's degree and fulfilling the course requirements below.  The work experience requirements are more strict than most states and require 2 years of public or non-public experience.To be eligible to...

Iowa requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however, you may sit for the CPA exam after earning a bachelor's degree along with 24 semester hours in accounting courses.  The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require one year of public or non-public accounting experience.To be eligible to...

In Mississippi, state residency is required to apply for the CPA exam and get a CPA license.  The requirements for licensure are fairly standard and require 150 credit hours along with one year of work experience in the accounting industry.To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students must first...

Kansas requires state residency to apply for the CPA exam and earn a CPA license.  One special education requirement before you can sit for the exam is that you must earn 11 credit hours of oral and communication courses.To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students must first fulfill...

Nevada requires 150 credit hours to sit for the CPA exam.  The work experience requirements for the CPA license are more strict than most states and require 2 years of public accounting experience with at least 700 hours of audit work.To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students must...

New Mexico requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning your bachelor's degree along with the required accounting courses.  The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public or non-public accounting verified by an active US...

West Virginia requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning your bachelor's degree along with the required pre-requisite courses.  The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public or non-public accounting verified by an active US...

Nebraska requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam 60 days prior to meeting the education requirements.  Nebraska is a two-tier state, which means the State Board first issues a certificate before you earn your permit to practice (license). Another important note is that...

Idaho requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam before this. The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public or non-public accounting verified by an active US CPA.To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students...

Rhode Island requires 150 credit hours to earn a CPA license, however you may sit for the CPA exam after earning your bachelor's degree along with the required accounting courses.  The work experience requirements are pretty standard and require 1 year of public or non-public accounting verified by an active US...

California CPA candidates are subject to the 150 hour rule beginning January 1, 2014. This means they will now be required to fulfill 150 semester hours along with 1 year of work experience to obtain a CPA license (prior to 2o14, 120 semester hours and 2 years work experience was...

Alabama is one of the 4 remaining two-tier states. This means that candidates who pass the CPA exam receive a certificate, but will then need to document appropriate work experience before being issued a CPA license. The amount of experience required is one year of full time employment in public...

In Alaska, CPA candidates may sit for the exam before they graduate as long as they are within 18 semester hours of graduation. They also allow non-accounting majors to take the CPA exam as long as they have one year of  experience in a public accounting firm. Overall Alaska has...

In Arizona a non-CPA supervisor is allowed to endorse a CPA license application. CPA candidates may sit for the exam before they graduate as long as they are within 18 semester hours of graduating and meeting the 150 semester hour requirement.To be eligible to sit for the cpa exam students...

The Michigan State Board of Accountancy requires specific audit experience to obtain a CPA license.  The overall requirements are less demanding than other states however this experience requirement may be difficult if you do not work in a CPA firm or government agency.To be eligible to sit for the cpa exam...

In Arkansas, you must have state residency to obtain a CPA license.  This is defined by being an Arkansas resident, employee, or currently keeping an office(s) in the state. Their education requirements are more complicated than most and should be closely examined to ensure that you meet their requirements.To be...