Becker CPA Review

Updated:December 9, 2018
Bryce Welker, CPA

becker cpa review

CRUSH RATING: 
CUSTOMER RATING:
Becker ★★★★☆ 3.6
5 1

One feature that gives the Becker CPA Review a lead over other courses is that it has the backing of the Big 4 accounting firms. However, it is also the most expensive option, which has the potential to intimidate prospective students.

If you select Becker, you have a choice of three study modes:

  • Self-study
  • Online
  • Live classes

Live classes are a unique feature of Becker’s providing a personal experience with instructors who offer a wide array of perspectives on the ins and outs of being a CPA. It’s something that few prep courses offer, making it a terrific reason to give this course a shot.

While this is an enticing option for many students, many candidates prefer the Self-Study course as it allows them to learn at their own pace. Becker also provides the “Becker Promise” for all their courses which permits you to retake them if you don’t pass the CPA exam.

 


PROS

1.  Study Materials

Becker provides excellent online notes and study materials. An outstanding feature of their course is that the answers to all practice questions are often linked to a relevant section in the online textbooks. This helps to explain complicated topics and saves time for the student as well.

You get access to over 6,000 multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and about 300 task-based simulations (TBSs). If you spend enough time on these, you will have a far greater chance of passing the exam.

2. Mobile App

Becker’s mobile app is another feature you simply aren’t going to find in the average CPA study course!

You can switch seamlessly between studying on your computer and your mobile phone when enrolled in Becker’s online courses. They’re compatible with both Apple’s iOS and Google’s Android operating systems, so your phone model won’t be an issue.

It is possible to utilize the time that you are away from your desktop or laptop by studying in this way. Another benefit to this app is that you don’t have to waste precious minutes looking for the place at which you stopped studying on your computer; the mobile app takes you to this point automatically by synchronizing your account.

3. Flexible Study Format

The Becker CPA Review offers two exceptional features that allow you to plan your study schedule and make the most of the time that is available to you.

The interactive Study Planner provides a tool that lets you create a study program for yourself. You can learn at your own pace and keep track of your progress in this way.

The other useful feature that the course offers is the Study Roadmap, which tells you how much time you need to devote to each topic in order to stay on schedule.

Using the Study Planner and Study Roadmap intelligently can help you to put the entire course material into perspective and plan your time in the best possible manner.

4. Accelerated Study

Becker’s FastPass is an accelerated program that allows you to prepare for all four sections of the CPA exam in just 12 weeks. This program has several features that make it a good choice for those who want to complete their preparation for the exam in a comparatively short period.

If you select the FastPass option, you will receive all your course books as soon as you start the program. Additionally, you can get your Flashcards and Final Review materials before classes start.

Keep in mind, however, that you have to pay extra for the FastPass program.

5. Add-ons

If you think that you need additional practice, the Becker CPA Review course has add-ons that you can buy:

  • Supplemental Multiple-Choice Questions: these are prepared by CPA prep experts; using them could help you study for certain sections of the exam that you find especially challenging. Supplemental MCQs are only available to current Becker students and can be purchased separately for AUD, FAR, REG, and BEC.
  • Flashcards: there are over 1,300 available apart from the original course package. Regular use of these study tools can help you to memorize what you have learned. They are available in digital and printed formats.
  • Final Review: this module consists of additional video lectures, MCQs, and TBSs. It is available in both Live and Self-Study packages and comes in four different versions covering different parts of the CPA exam.

6. Instructors

Many of Becker’s instructors are highly qualified experts in their subject areas. Here is a brief overview of the top four:

  • Angie Brown, CPA – Angie joined Becker back in 2000 as an instructor. She is currently the Director of Accounting Curriculum for Becker Professional Education and teaches classes for auditing, financial accounting, managerial accounting, finance, and economics. Angie has a B.S. in Accounting as well as a Masters of Accountancy degree from Brigham Young University.
  • Michael Brown, CPA, CGMA, CMA – Mike holds a Bachelor of Science in Commerce degree and a Master of Science in Accounting degree from the University of Virginia. He started his career with Ernst & Young and has held several positions in the corporate world. He is currently the National Manager of Faculty & Distance Learning with Becker Professional Education.
  • Timothy F. Gearty, CPA, MBA, JD – Tim is a partner in Gearty & McIntyre, LLP, CPA, a firm that provides business advisory services. He also serves as National Lead Instructor for Becker. Tim has been a keynote speaker for several Fortune 100 companies and is the Editor-in-Chief for Becker Professional Education.
  • Peter Olinto, National Instructor, JD, CPA – Peter has worked as an auditor at Deloitte & Touche and as a tax attorney for Ernst & Young. He spent close to ten years teaching financial statement analysis, tax, accounting, and law at the graduate and undergraduate levels at Fordham’s business school. He is currently a National Lead Instructor for Becker Professional Education.

 


CONS

1. Live Classes

To be fair, many of the live classes provided by Becker are of the highest quality. The instructors are knowledgeable and articulate, and they know how to explain the most complicated topics in a simple and easy-to-understand manner.

Unfortunately, not all of the instructors offer the same level of quality!

A few of Becker’s live classes can be dull and boring based on the experiences of a few students. Some students were of the opinion that they would have been better off simply studying on their own instead of spending the additional time and money for a live course.

Fortunately, the online video lectures from Becker are of exceptional quality. This means that if you find live classes to be a waste or are unsure of enrolling in the ones provided by this company, you can use your time more productively by turning to their other study materials.

2. Price

This is the big one. Overall, Becker CPA Review is a terrific option for accounting students. But the high quality of their course comes at a steep price; at $3,393 for all the four sections, Becker is among the most expensive review courses that you can buy. On top of this, you have to pay extra for the additional materials if you want to further enhance your study experience.

3. Audio Content

This is a polarizing feature that may only be an issue for a minority of students, but it’s worth mentioning regardless. An audio version of educational lectures can be a boon for those who are auditory learners or frequent commuters. An audio course could allow them to make the most of their downtime in order to effectively prepare for the exam.

Although Becker is still an excellent review course, the lack of an audio version could be a deal-breaker for some candidates. While there may be a work-around possible through their video content, it simply isn’t as convenient as a fully audio-based format.


Ideal Customer

This is one of the better CPA review courses on the market. It has been available for several decades and the years of experience shows in its study materials. For example, the physical textbooks and e-textbooks that Becker provides are extremely well-made.

The textbooks give you all the information that you need to prepare for the exam. In fact, in many instances they go into far more detail than is necessary. But, if you can absorb all this information, your chances of passing the exam will increase significantly.

The advantages that Becker offers go beyond the textbooks and lectures that it provides. It has several innovations to its credit that make studying for the CPA exam both entertaining and exciting.

Candidates enrolled in the Becker CPA Exam Review get access to Accounting for Empires, an interactive mobile game that can be played individually or in a group. You need to answer CPA exam questions correctly to build your empire.

Becker offers several other innovative study tools. The Study Planner and the Study Roadmap are two examples. The Adapt2U technology, which helps you to focus on the areas that you need to provide further attention to, is another.

If you are looking for a CPA review provider who goes beyond just providing textbooks and video lectures, then Becker is a good choice. However, students who can’t invest a great deal of money into their CPA studying may want to look elsewhere.

Final Recommendation

If you can afford it, Becker is one of the best options out there for a CPA student looking to achieve certification on their first try. There are many appealing features available to enrollees presented in a variety of formats, with even more content provided if the base package still isn’t enough. It really is the best way to ensure that you CRUSH the CPA exam!

Save $1,000 OFF the Becker CPA Review Bundle or $900 OFF Becker CPA’s Full Course

CPA, Becker CPA Review 40 uses today
CPA 33 uses today
Get $1,000 OFF the Becker CPA Bundle course or $900 Off Becker’s complete 4-Part CPA Review Course for a Limited Time.
Last Used 30 minutes ago
Expiration Date: December 18, 2018

Becker CPA Review Course Information

Becker CPA Review
Strengths
1.Study Materials
2.Mobile App
3.Structured Format
4.Fast Pass/Intensive
5.Financing Options

Becker CPA Review Course
4 / 5 stars

Have you used Becker CPA Review? Leave a Review!

Name
Email
Course Name
Rating
Review Content

Becker CPA Exam Review

Becker
★★★★☆
4 5 1
I am enjoying using Becker to prepare for my CPA exams. Each tests is broken into 6-8 Modules, with 4-8 sections in each Module. Each section has the book video, a concept review and multiple choice questions. The videos explain concepts in the book and are narrated by a dorky but loveable CPA, who provides extra information and examples not already in the book. The course review chooses one or two concepts to go over again, and the multiple choice help students get a sense of what is likely to be tested from the section. I give Becker four stars because I had a lot of issues getting it set up and numerous calls to customer service left me with conflicting answers, which was a bit frustrating. Now that I have it installed though, it is very user friendly. Luckily I am working for a Big Four who paid for Becker, otherwise I definitely would not be using this review material because of price. It's a great course, but I can't justify spending $3,000+ when there are cheaper courses that are just as helpful.

BECKER

Becker
★★★★★
5 5 1
The studying video of Becker is awesome. Just arrange the time by topic and do the homework for each topic. At the same time, its good to use flash card to remember the definition of the technic terms and will help you to understand the question well. For the section FAR AND AUD, there is no doubt need to practice a lot, at least redo all question in Becker three times, and then it will increase the pass rate.

Becker

Becker
★★★★☆
4 5 1
I only negative thing I have to say about Becker is that it is relatively pretty expensive. But I think its worth it. The video lessons are not that great, but the problems they have are probably the closest thing you will get to the actual CPA exam questions. I would say go for it. Don't let the price tag deter you. It is very much worth it.

becker

Becker
★★★★☆
4 5 1
This review course is extremely expensive but it does offer a lot of benefits. It has a plethora of questions and data on what to study. Because there is just way too much content, I have learned that the videos are useless to me since I will still need to read the book. Even though I have the course, I did not pass multiple sections. I don't think just because you purchase Becker and study a lot, it is guaranteed that you will pass. Instead, it is the method and the consistency at which you study.I will say their customer service is one of my favorite aspects of Becker. If I ever have any questions regarding a Multiple Choice or simulation or anything, they will respond to me and explain in ways I almost always understand, so that was my favorite aspect of Becker that I don't know if other review courses offer, but I still don't think that aspect is worth $4,000.

Becker

Becker
★★★★☆
4 5 1
Becker was very expensive so for some sections I think it was overkill for me. I had a good knowledge going in on a couple of the sections so I thought it was too much. They have a lot of multiple choice questions which I think helped me the most. I took the live-online lectures and they were basically just the same as the recorded lectures for each module.

Becker

Becker
★★★★★
5 5 1
If you follow the Becker lectures, and book, and do the the problems, you will pass. Becker covers every topic on each exam, and even gives you an estimate of how much of the test will cover that topic. Other reviews say the lectures are boring. Yes, some of the accounting lectures are boring... who would've thought an accounting lecture would be boring?? Inherently, some lectures are more exciting than others. Peter Olinto will never leave you bored, that's for sure. The dashboard is very easy to understand and follow. Practice multiple choice questions are excellent. I'd say some of the simulations are a bit too simple, but they get the exam topic across just as well. I think the ROI for study materials that will help you pass the CPA are absolutely worth the money. Like I said, if you follow their directions and study plan, and don't take shortcuts, you will pass. Additionally, I like how you can follow the notes that should go in your book along with the lecture. I found that very helpful. The two improvement points for me would be getting rid of Mike and Angie Brown (who only teach a small percentage of lectures) and improving simulations to be a bit more detailed and like the test. Overall, I would highly recommend Becker.

Becker

Becker
★★★★★
5 5 1
I used the Becker Self Study CPA to prepare for the CPA exam. I was really surprised to see how closely the practice questions mirrored the actual exam questions. Most of the course leaders/speakers tried to inject some humor into the lessons, but it still is an accounting course. I liked how many practice questions were offered and I felt like I would not have passed the exams if I didn't work all of the questions they provided. I think the course is a bit pricey but I think if you work all of the practice questions and exams then you should be more than ready to pass the real exams.

Becker

Becker
★★☆☆☆
2 5 1
Overpriced

Becker CPA Review All 4

Becker
★☆☆☆☆
1 5 1
The teachers are absolutely redundant except for the ridiculous mnemonics they come up with. Peter Olinto is better, however the old man and the lady brown are absoutely fit for teaching. They come and read out the stuff from papers without life in what they speak. It is more mechanical. I am an Indian and trust me this is not how we are taught in our classes. It is just a joke. If you are an Indian, please do not go for this course. Take Miles instead. At least that is more sensible.

Becker CPA Review

Becker
★★★★☆
4 5 1
The multiple choice problems and the simulations are helpful but I do not enjoy the lectures. They're a little boring. I think reading the book and focusing on the multiple choice problems and simulations are key. The dashboard is easy to understand. The customer service is good. Whenever I call them they answer my call quickly. It takes about a day for a tutor to email you back though. The tutors did not directly answer my question on two separate occasions. I had to email them a second time for them to fully answer it. The course can improve by having tutors take more time to answer your questions and improve on the lectures a little bit. I believe the course is a good value.
Becker Overall rating: ★★★★☆ 3.6 based on 28 reviews
5 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

36 Comments
  • rone
    Posted at 9 February, 2017 11:16 AM Reply

    i need the installation files for review and final review becker cpa 2017 ...any one can send them to me on [email protected]

    • Nazeer
      Posted at 3 February, 2017 23:16 PM Reply

      Becker's course worked fine for me, but I regret not getting Surgent. Most of my friends used Surgent and it had better features for half the price. Don't believe the hype and get something else.

      • Joseph Harris
        Posted at 4 August, 2016 18:02 PM Reply

        Has anyone who has a full-time job done any of Becker's in class review courses for anything because I am definitely considering it after failing Audit just recently. I just think the way I am studying by myself isn't working and that I need to learn from people in person who actually know what to teach us for the exams. I know it's time-consuming, but is it worth it in your eyes, and does it really help you for the exam that much as compared to studying on your own? Thanks!

        • MAG
          Posted at 17 August, 2016 23:16 PM Reply

          I recently took the BEC course and I think it did help me. It is true that instructors are a hit or miss, but more than anything, the live classes helped me stay on track or have an idea of where I needed to be in order to finish the material and be ready for the exam. I did the fast-pass course and I think it did help me. Mind you - I had already taken BEC twice but hadn't really opened the book or studied consciously. But this time I did take the time to review and I'm actually waiting on my score - hoping I did pass this time. I am going to do the same for FAR as I need to be done asap or I'll have to retake the other two parts that I've passed so far.I'd say if you have a hard time staying on track and you are the kind of person that needs some structure, definitely take the live class, even if you end up just watching the videos again. I noticed a lot of things made a lot more sense when I had someone else tell me in person where I was wrong and just have that immediate feedback whenever I asked a question in class. I also noticed that before, when I was doing the self-study, I would always say "I can get to this tomorrow," or "I have time to finish X chapter" and that was never the case. That's why I decided to sign up for the live classes.I do work full time as an auditor and it's definitely been tough. I was able to take a few days off before my exam to study but I would definitely try to get most of my studying done after work and on the weekends. It's not easy, especially when your family/friends are out doing something and you're stuck to a desk/table and a chair for hours. But it's an investment that's definitely worth it.

        • Phoebe
          Posted at 28 June, 2016 18:43 PM Reply

          I am in the process of choosing how I will study and what my timeline will be. My employer offers a decent discount for becker so I am leaning towards them. After looking around this site I am wondering about some of the other contenders. I do best by seeing and hearing something explained rather than by reading about it in a textbook. This makes me think that the rodger review course might be best for me as the lectures are engaging. Are the becker lectures just as engaging and helpful to those of us who don't excel at textbook learning?

          • Jad
            Posted at 25 February, 2016 16:59 PM Reply

            If I focus only on the multiple choice questions which are over 6,000 and solve the simulations, is it enough to pass the exam while self-studying without looking at the lecture?

            • BWelk
              Posted at 8 March, 2016 05:03 AM Reply

              I think skipping the video lectures is fine as long as you are reading the textbook so you understand the material.Cheers,Bryce

            • Josue Mendoza
              Posted at 21 February, 2016 01:00 AM Reply

              Hi everyone,I recently passed all 4 parts of the CPA exam on the first try using Becker. I found Becker to be very good and my overall experience was excellent. However I must disclose that I didn't even consider any other course. My employer gave Becker a great recommendation and he gave me $1,000 to help pay for it. So take my post for what it's worth. I'm not trying to sway anyone's thinking. Had I read this website before choosing an exam study material I may have gone with another study course.The lectures were informative and entertaining, for the most part. I did feel like it was a bit of information overload. But overall I did learn from the lectures and the book highlighting. Peter Olinto was my favorite lecturer.Still, the real learning for me took place in the MCQs. Each chapter is broken down into small sections of questions that correspond to sections of the chapter. Each question, wether you get it right or wrong, will give you a good explanation of the answer. I had a notebook and wrote down the explanation to each question that I felt needed further study. This was very helpful. I filled out about 4 of the 5 subject notebooks. After completing all the chapters I would do progress tests of 100 MCQs at a time. They were very helpful too. Also, Becker gives you the chance to rework all the questions, ones you selected or ones you get wrong.Every time I had a question I would email someone at Becker and get a response in 24 to 48 hours. I'm not sure how that compares to other courses.The software got regular updates but there was a time when one of my books became outdated and I had to pay $15 for an updated one.The simulations were helpful too but I have to admit that I hated them.I contacted Becker about an extension to the course in case I failed the last exam and had my first exam lapse. They said that I would get a 3 month extension for free as long as my test was scheduled within those 3 months.I am a morning person, so I would wake up at 3:30 or 4 AM and go at it till 8am. I would then get ready for work in 10 min and be out by 8:10 AM. During my study time, my oldest daughter was 3 and my youngest daughter was about 3 months old and I was working over 40 hours a week at a CPA firm. I'm also the youth pastor at my church so believe me my time was very prescious. Thank God for my wife without whom I would not have been able to pass.Anyway, that was my experience and I hope it helps someone. I really appreciate this website. The breakdown of each service is great. My brother will be taking the CPA soon and I will definitely recommend this site for him to have some guidance about which service to choose.

              • Jad
                Posted at 21 March, 2016 14:11 PM Reply

                so you basically solve mc until you memorize them ?i've heard that the exam contains mc similar to those we've practiced, is it true?and what advice do you give me with one month remaining to the audit exam?

                • Ryan Torres
                  Posted at 26 April, 2016 15:09 PM Reply

                  I have a friend who said that multiple MCQ were word for word from the testing bank becker uses. But if you are close to that 75 and you have a few questions memorized it may make all the difference in passing

                • Ola
                  Posted at 20 May, 2016 15:05 PM Reply

                  Hi Josue,I hope you are doing great? Congrats on passing the CPA exam. I saw your comment on Crush the CPA Exam and wanted to know if I could lend any study materials you might still [email protected] hope to hear from you soon.Thanks

                • Ali
                  Posted at 17 February, 2016 04:54 AM Reply

                  Hi there !! I am from India and aspire to complete my CPA... I am currently working with one of the BIG 4 accounting firms... In India I am getting either Becker or Wiley at around 1700 $ (Online Plus Classroom Training) through my firm... being from accounting background I think I can manage the curriculum but am still skeptical about the differences between Indian and US GAAP. Also I am seeking some help and guidance for other formalities required before/during the course(State selection etc.). Both review operators here in India provide guarantee that these things shall be handled by them. I don't have any past experience with either of the two. If anyone here could help me or throw some light on these issues would help me... Thanks in advance.

                  • BWelk
                    Posted at 19 February, 2016 07:33 AM Reply

                    Hi Ali,I compare Becker vs Wiley CPAexcel in this post, hope this helps: Cheers,Bryce

                  • Jafar Ahmed
                    Posted at 23 January, 2016 23:47 PM Reply

                    Hi, I graduated 10 years ago with an accounting degree and finally now I decided to go for my CPA. Obviously, I have to start from scratch because I have forgotten most of the things I learned in college. What cpa review material do you recommend for someone like me?

                    • BWelk
                      Posted at 27 January, 2016 05:48 AM Reply

                      Hi Jafar,Students who have been out of school for a while tend to do best with either Yaeger CPA Review or Wiley CPAexcel. If you prefer to learn from watching video lectures and having the material explained to you then I would suggest Yaeger CPA Review. However if you learn better from reading the textbook and doing tons of practice questions then I would suggest WIley CPAexcel for you.Cheers,Bryce

                    • TestTaker
                      Posted at 6 January, 2016 20:45 PM Reply

                      I passed all the exams using Becker. Only had to retake one section. In my opinion, passing or failing an exam is not due to the review materials. Passing or failing is directly correlated with the amount of time and effort put forth in studying. Becker has over 1,500 review questions for each section of the exam, plus several simulations, plus hundreds of pages in the books. If that isn't enough to pass then I don't know what is!

                      • Sam Dillon
                        Posted at 22 December, 2015 23:52 PM Reply

                        They Canceled my class and now are threatening to not refund my money, unless i return the book within ten days, it has not shown up yet and they can't tell me when it will. Do not use! I used Wiley to pass AUD and BEC, they weren't perfect but at least it wasn't a scam!

                        • Dan Medina
                          Posted at 9 December, 2015 06:56 AM Reply

                          I enrolled in the Becker self study program. I was fortunate to have my firm pay for the program. I have to say that it was everything that I expected and more. I scored over an 80 on every section. Received my final score tonight, 83 on BEC. Huge weight off my back now that I am done and Becker got me there. I started working for my firm after only passing FAR. The self study allowed me to study when it was convenient for me. It's worth the money. The overall objective is to pass and Becker provides the best option to get you there. 3500 dollars is nothing over a career of a CPA. Thanks Becker from your newest CPA!!!

                          • Alessio Asaro
                            Posted at 20 November, 2015 01:29 AM Reply

                            I recently got an offer with a big firm and they will provide me with the review material of my choice. everyone I spoke to is so gung ho about Becker. I think Roger CPA is more my type.

                            • Kayla
                              Posted at 6 November, 2015 00:47 AM Reply

                              It seems like every week I encounter another technical issue. Over priced Cliff notes. Wiley didn't work for me a few years ago so I tried this because my firm offered it. My original live classes were cancelled the week before the scheduled start date leaving me to scramble and relocate to classes 50+ miles away. It took 3 phone calls for them to figure out the reason I wasn't getting course updates was because they had my email listed on two accounts, really?! It was listed twice and you still couldn't notify me? Now I'm in the middle of a set of questions and the web site goes dark. My exams in a few weeks thanks Becker

                              • Michael
                                Posted at 27 October, 2015 02:07 AM Reply

                                I've been using Becker the last couple months. I've been passing but it's frustrating because you essentially have to teach yourself the material. The online lectures are completely useless. As somebody said below, the lecturers just tell you to underline or highlight certain passages. You don't actually learn anything from the lectures which is extremely annoying to me because I feel like I wasted 3+ hours going through their videos only to waste a ton of extra time having to go through all the MC questions I get wrong because I have no idea what the questions are asking. Becker is nowhere near the $3400+ they charge. If I'm paying $3400, I should learn something from your lectures instead of having it essentially be a self-taught course.

                                • BWelk
                                  Posted at 27 October, 2015 20:57 PM Reply

                                  Thanks for your comment Michael. So many students have similar experiences with Becker and I hope future CPA candidates read your thoughts before they commit to their course.Cheers,Bryce

                                • Douglas
                                  Posted at 6 October, 2015 20:28 PM Reply

                                  I graduated May 2015 and Becker came and talked to us about their materials. I am working at a mid-level firm and they offered to pay for the review of my choice. All I ever heard was Becker so that is what I went with. Biggest mistake ever. Their live course instructors are hit or miss (mostly miss) and they focus on memorization rather than understanding it. Out of my fellow classmates I graduated with, only one or two have passed one exam so far. My personal experience has been miserable with Becker. As I was sitting taking my FAR exam, there was a simulation on there that Becker told me "not to worry about, you will never get tested on it" and completely skipped that topic. I come out of the exam extremely frustrated and I thought to myself, OK maybe it was an odd chance I got that on my exam. A couple month later, I am taking my AUD section and 4 of my 7 simulations were never covered in the Becker review. Since Becker locks you into signing up for all 4 sections at once, I am forced to finish out studying and taking REG and BEC with them but I can tell you I will NEVER recommend Becker and I am currently shopping around for a different review company. Stay away!

                                  • BWelk
                                    Posted at 14 October, 2015 14:12 PM Reply

                                    Sorry you had to learn the hard way Douglas. Thanks for your feedback!

                                    • Tamara Kelsey
                                      Posted at 27 November, 2015 05:29 AM Reply

                                      I'm having the same issue. I did Becker cause that's what my company wanted. I've bombed all my questions so far. I'm pretty lost. What are the technics you guys are using? Are you just reading?

                                  • Dori Corn
                                    Posted at 19 August, 2015 20:04 PM Reply

                                    Are there any other places that offer a live classroom in Chicago?

                                    • Megan Lee
                                      Posted at 7 July, 2015 15:31 PM Reply

                                      I am going to be taking the Becker accelerated Fast paced course but am skeptical because of all these reviews. Should I supplement the class with additional material? My employer is paying for Becker so I feel like I'm obligated to stick with it.

                                      • BWelk
                                        Posted at 29 July, 2015 01:34 AM Reply

                                        Ya I would at least supplement your studies with the Wiley Test Bank. This will give you thousands of extra multiple choice questions to work through that you won't find in Becker's course.Cheers,Bryce

                                      • Racermike182
                                        Posted at 11 June, 2015 18:32 PM Reply

                                        They came to my school pitched their course to our class. I'm still torn on which course to buy. I have a daughter that I will be watching while studying, so trying to go to a live class might not be great for me. I like good practical instruction; what do you think would be best for me?

                                        • BWelk
                                          Posted at 23 June, 2015 14:18 PM Reply

                                          Hi,I'd definitely suggest either Roger or Wiley CPAexcel. Roger would be better if you prefer to learn from watching video lectures since their videos are more engaging. However Wiley is a better self-study course and is very flexible so would better fit into your busy schedule and time constraints. I'd suggest checking out a free demo of both and seeing which one resonates with you better.Cheers,Bryce

                                        • sara
                                          Posted at 27 May, 2015 15:17 PM Reply

                                          I used Becker and found it to be awful! They don't explain things well and there lectures are just someone reading the book and telling you what to highlight, not very helpful.

                                          • BWelk
                                            Posted at 3 June, 2015 04:26 AM Reply

                                            Hi Sara,Thanks for your input, I've heard the same thing from many others, sorry you had to find out the hard way.Cheers,Bryce

                                            • Tamara Kelsey
                                              Posted at 27 November, 2015 05:31 AM Reply

                                              Sara what did you end up using

                                            • Steve
                                              Posted at 10 March, 2015 22:55 PM Reply

                                              I agree. Becker isn't working for me. They don't provide you a means of understanding the material, only memorizing it.