Gleim CPA Review

Overview of Gleim CPA Review 2017 Course

OVERALL RATING:

Gleim CPA Review is a comprehensive course that prides itself on covering all possible subjects that you may encounter on the CPA Exam. Their course is well organized and ideal for you if you’re looking for a guided CPA prep tool with micro-lessons. Gleim also offers an efficient support system that provides personalized help to meet your varying needs.

Your Gleim CPA Review course includes SmartAdapt technology software as well as other study materials like the audio reviews and simulation wizard. All your Gleim materials will have unlimited access and free content updates, so you will always have the most current information.

Gleim offers a couple course packages. The Gleim CPA Premium Course has a price tag of $1,599. This is less than the industry average and includes study materials for all 4 sections of the CPA exam. They also offer a Traditional course package which can be purchased for $1,299. I will be referencing the Premium Review Course package throughout this review since that is the most popular choice.

Course Details (product details):

  • $1,439 (with Crush discount!)
  • 9,200 multiple choice questions
  • 1,000 task based simulations
  • Over 100 hours of video lectures
  • Audio lectures
  • Student Support from accounting experts
  • Authentic exam day emulation throughout practice exams
  • Unlimited Access

 

2017 Gleim CPA Review Updates

Gleim CPA Review has upgraded its course to accommodate the new CPA Exam that was released in April 2017. Now, Gleim incorporates adaptive learning into your software so you can focus on your weaknesses. All of the content has been updated to include any changes that have occurred since the previous year. The video lectures section has also been updated and now contains more than 100 hours of video lessons.

What’s Included in Gleim’s Review Course?

Multiple Choice Questions

Gleim has the biggest test bank out of all the CPA review courses available. With more than 9,200 unique multiple choice questions, you will have more than enough with which to practice. Many students and I found that Gleim’s questions are challenging enough so that when you face the real exam you will be prepared for the hardest testing items.

Your multiple choice questions come with detailed answer explanations for both incorrect and correct answers. This allows you to assess your knowledge and learn from your mistakes right when you make them, so when it comes time for the real exam you will be confident and prepared.

 

Task Based Simulations

Gleim’s massive test bank comes with 1,000 task based simulations for you to practice this section of the exam. When you are practicing with these, you will be provided with detailed answer explanations, just like the multiple choice questions. This is great because you will be able to not only have a full understanding of the process of answering TBSs, but also the full content that the TBSs are testing.

 

Practice Exams

Gleim’s practice tests incorporate a variety of different questions, such as true/false, multiple choice questions, final exam reviews, and task based simulations. And its performance analysis feature makes it easy to track your progress and see what specific areas on which you need to improve.

You have the option to take practice tests in Study Session mode or Test Session mode. Your Study Session will give you feedback immediately after ever question while the Test Session mode will emulate a full CPA exam where you don’t see your results until you finish.

Flashcards

Unfortunately, Gleim does not include flashcards in its CPA review course. If you like to learn with this study technique, you are going to have to look at a different course that includes flashcards, like Roger CPA Review or Surgent. Another tip is to make your own flashcards! Writing out your own flashcards is a great way to study in and of itself.

 

CPA Exam Video and Audio Lectures

Gleim’s video lectures are professional and will guide you through multiple choice questions and real-world examples as the instructors teach the most important topics provided in the CPA Exam Blueprints. The video lectures don’t have side by side text for you to read along with as the instructor goes through topics, a function that some students found useful in other review courses.

Gleim also includes an audio review course that you can listen to on a variety of devices. This is great if you need to take your studies on the go, such as during a long commute to work. Each CPA Exam section of Gleim’s course has 20 audio lectures that average around 30 minutes each. These lectures were informative, but not as engaging as I would have liked.

 

Dashboard/UX

Once you log into your Gleim CPA Review course, you’ll be greeted with an intuitive dashboard that gives you a personal study plan based on your exam dates. The course is professional and fairly easy to navigate through. Once you go through the text, video/audio lectures, and little quizzes that test your knowledge, you can do a final review of your performance and see what topics need more study time.

The way Gleim is designed favors an organized approach that’s very disciplined and requires a consistent study schedule. I found this difficult since I had trouble finding the motivation to go through the plethora of practice questions. So if you are a strict self-motivated learner that’s looking for a lot of information, then Gleim would be a great fit for you.

Customer Support

Gleim has incredible student support. You have multiple ways of reaching out for help when you have any sort of question. Whether it’s related to study tips, specific questions about topics, or advice on the application process, you can use Gleim’s support team as a great aid.

Your Gleim CPA Review course will allow you to submit questions and feedback right in the platform where you will be answered by accounting experts. You will also have access to a Personal Counselor for advice and support.

And for all the international students out there, Gleim gives you special assistance by recommending what states you should sit in, finding you companies that can evaluate your transcripts, and answering any questions for your particular circumstances. All of Gleim’s support is offered 24/7 (even holidays), so your questions will always be answered timely.

 

Course Access and Updates

Gleim’s “Access Until You Pass” guarantee means that you will have access to free updated material until you pass the CPA Exam. Your digital materials will update automatically, so you never have to worry about not having the current information. And if you want to new edition of the physical books, you will have to pay only the shipping costs.

Gleim’s unlimited access is really great, and not all courses give this to CPA candidates. If follow all of the “suggested steps” detailed out by Gleim Premium CPA Review System and still don’t pass the exam, you will receive a full refund (this must be requested within 18 months of your purchase).

 

What Course Packages Does Gleim CPA Review offer?

Gleim’s most popular package is the Premium CPA review, but if you are just looking for supplemental study questions, Gleim’s CPA Mega Test Bank is a great resource!

Course PackagePremium CPA ReviewTraditional CPA ReviewCPA Mega Test Bank
Cost$1599$1299$999
Adaptive Technology
Interactive Study Planner
9,200 Multiple Choice QuestionsPhysical Copies of Books
1,000 Task Based Simulations
Customized Support From Personal Counselors & Accounting ExpertsPersonal Counselors
Access Until You Pass
Link to CourseGet StartedGet StartedGet Started

Gleim CPA Review Discount Codes & Financing Options

Gleim does not offer any financing plans, so you will have to pay for the full course up front if you decide you want to go with Gleim CPA Review. This can be tricky when you have lots of student debt or your company isn’t funding your CPA review course. However, Gleim’s price is lower than most other courses on the market, and with Crush’s CPA review discounts, you’ll save even more!

 

Gleim CPA Review VS Becker

Gleim and Becker are both popular review courses for those who are taking the CPA Exam. Let’s compare the two and see which one you would benefit from the most.

Starting with the cost, Gleim is dramatically cheaper at $1,599. Becker is the most expensive course on the market and costs a whopping $3,393. And when it comes to course expiration, Becker gives you only 18 months to use their course and pass the exam. Gleim has unlimited access as well as free updates, whereas Becker will charge you for updates.

Becker’s CPA Review comes with 7,200 multiple choice questions and 400 task based simulations. That’s pretty good, but nothing compared to Gleim’s mega test bank that has 9,200 multiple choice questions and 1,000 task based simulations. Gleim also comes with audio lessons, something Becker doesn’t even have.

So which course is better? I personally think Gleim is a better course in multiple ways, but you need to find the best course for your learning style. So check out both of their free trials if you are still unsure.

Gleim CPA Discount Codes

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★
Gleim, Dollar Amount Off, Specials 35 uses today
Gleim 35 uses today

Save $159.90 with our Gleim CPA discount and get an awesome deal on a proven course. Just enter this Gleim discount code at checkout to save $159.90. You’ll have more money for exam fees and anything you need to help you get through the studying process when you use our Gleim coupon code. Buy now and get started today!

More
Last Used 1 hours ago
Expiration Date: August 18, 2017

Who is Gleim CPA Review Best For?

Gleim is an overall solid course that provides a lot of material for a great price. You would like Gleim if you want easy access to a higher level of support from personal counselors and the ability to ask questions directly in your course.

Gleim is very comprehensive and covers more than you need to know for the CPA Exam, which can be overwhelming. If you are okay taking on the massive test bank and going through the tightly-structured study format (read the material, watch the videos, practice with questions), Gleim would be a great fit for you.

Gleim CPA Review Course Information

Gleim CPA Review
Strengths
1.Lots of Practice Questions
2.Price
3.Multiple Choice
4.10% Off Discount Code
5.Audio Review Course
6.Study Tips
 
Gleim CPA Review
4 / 5 stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

31 Comments
  • JR
    Posted at 15 January, 2015 18:58 PM Reply

    Hello Bryce, I have a non accounting background and am preparing to take the CPA exam. I am undecided as to which study solution would be best for me. I am considering either Wiley or Gleim as they both seem to be self study oriented. Do you have any insight and/or gotten any feedback from non traditional candidates who have gone through the process? I would appreciate any feedback, thanks!

    • BWelk
      Posted at 23 January, 2015 07:23 AM Reply

      Hi JR,My suggestion would be to first sign up for Wiley CPAexcel's free 2 week trial. After going through a couple of their sections you will know whether or not their course is a good fit. Gleim has a good self-study course as well, however people with a non-accounting background tend to do much better with Wiley's course.Cheers,Bryce

    • Ideree Gurbazar
      Posted at 10 September, 2014 13:05 PM Reply

      Just passed FAR with 81 by using Gleim. My practice test score was only 60-65%, and I studied really hard on last 3 weeks approximately 80 hours. I reviewed all the questions that I missed and put notes on the card, it helped me a lot. Every time I read my notes I remember "what was the question why I missed answer should be like this".

      • BWelk
        Posted at 17 September, 2014 02:03 AM Reply

        Congrats Ideree!Reviewing the questions you miss is one of the best strategies you can use to study. If only everyone else knew that they would do score much higher!Cheers,Bryce

        • Ideree Gurbazar
          Posted at 17 September, 2014 13:11 PM Reply

          Thank you. I just read blog of Nathan Liao "CMA vs CPA Which one is better?", she stated that if she picked CPA she would have to find another job to get licensed. But she was working as Corporate Controller, isn't it enough to meet experience requirement for CPA? I would appreciate your input. Thanks

          • BWelk
            Posted at 19 September, 2014 08:28 AM Reply

            The experience requirement has nothing to do with your job title. I believe the reason he said that was because he does not have a supervisor who is an active CPA who can sign off on his experience requirement.

        • Maral
          Posted at 28 March, 2015 02:00 AM Reply

          Hi Mongolian guy, I am thinking to try a CPA exam and I have a question for you. I would like to contact you and I am not sure if you read this post.

          • Byambaa Tumur
            Posted at 16 August, 2015 04:15 AM Reply

            Hi. Marla. I am preparing CPA. Where do u live maybe we can prepare together

        • bryan
          Posted at 8 September, 2014 22:29 PM Reply

          Wiley cpa exam way cheaper and better I had Gleim a total rip off. Wiley cpa book just 40 dollars at the book store Gleim cost me about 900 and never gave me updates like promised.

          • Elizabeth Owens
            Posted at 22 July, 2014 00:40 AM Reply

            Thanks for the detail! I have used Gleim for the CIA exam and passed and now using Gleim for the CPA exam. I love that their books are in outline form unlike other material on the market.

            • Bryce
              Posted at 16 June, 2013 08:45 AM Reply

              Thank you all for your great comments and participating in the Gleim giveaway!Congratulations to the winner, Gilbert Cavazos, you will be contacted by a Gleim sales rep soon!

              • Gilbert
                Posted at 20 June, 2013 11:08 AM Reply

                Thank you so much, Bryce for this great opportunity! I'm definitely looking forward to battling the CPA exam again!To all those who submitted an entry, I wish you the very best. After reading the different posts above, I was encouraged because I knew that I'm not alone in this journey. It's incredible how we are all looking forward to the day when we receive a "Pass" status on all 4 parts of our exam results section.If you would have told me years ago that I would be attacking the CPA exam today in 2013, I would have laughed. At 19, I was very discouraged about going to college because I was told I needed to take all remedial classes (English, Pre-Algebra and Reading 001). Yes, Reading 001. After graduating High School with an average GPA, I was placed in an elementary reading class. I felt as though I had failed so bad there was no hope for me in the business world. But, thankfully, the story didn't have to end there.We each have traveled different journeys to get to where we are at today. Please, maximize the potential of that journey by sharing your story with others. You never know how much of an impact YOUR journey story will have on them. With that note, let's go out and CRUSH THE CPA EXAM!!!Wishing you all the best in your CPA career!-Gilbert-

                • Bryce
                  Posted at 20 June, 2013 13:17 PM Reply

                  Love the positive attitude Gilbert! Thanks for sharing your story and please keep us posted on your journey ahead.Cheers,Bryce

              • Rueben
                Posted at 14 June, 2013 04:44 AM Reply

                Hi, I am an accountant and a father to a toddler. I believe that I am at a disadvantage due to my accounting position in a government entity. This makes it real difficult to grasp certain concepts. I need a course that will cover all CPA exam topics. I believe Gleim will be my saving grace. I have to travel a long distance to get to the nearest Prometric testing center and it normally costs anywhere between $250-350 to travel there. I plan to use Gleim as my main study course for passing my exams especially AUD. I have failed AUD three times with scores of 63-73-73. I spent my money on a well known overpriced course which has expired. What a mistake! I plan to correct this mistake by using Gleim.I like the fact that Gleim uses videos that are audio-visual presentations rather than a video of an actual person teaching. I have tried the classroom teaching other course and it is easy to get distracted. Another major plus with using Gleim is that the course is comprehensive and covers all possible subjects that may be on the CPA exam. I have used several courses and some are limited to just the basics which I find was an injustice on exam days. Most of all I love the fact that Gleim is the most affordable course and great for self studiers such as myself.It is my goal to pass all my exams using Gleim. I plan to become a forensic CPA and to help others. Thank you Gleim for giving me this opportunity!

                • Gigi
                  Posted at 12 March, 2015 14:21 PM Reply

                  Hi RuebenThank you for sharing your experience. Now, I am in the same page. I spend acouple of thousand in a CPA review that I am not sure if prepared me goodenough. I had just sat for one test so far, but failed. And I think thatsimulations were not even close to the real exam. I had heard about Gleim thatis very detail, but I am not sure what you guys referred to is good toself-study. As far as I know all CPA review courses are self –study. I wouldlike to know if there is a free trial to see if this review adjust to me or ifI can adjust to that review. I refused myself to spend more money in somethingthat will not give the result I need to pass

                  • BWelk
                    Posted at 20 March, 2015 20:35 PM Reply

                    Hi Gigi,Self-study means that you prefer to work at your own pace and primarily learn by reading the material and doing the practice questions without watching video lectures. Gleim and Wiley CPAexcel are good for this type of learner.If you prefer to learn by watching video lectures and having an instructor explain things to you then Roger CPA review is going to be a better fit.Gleim has some free video demos on their website but does not give you access to their software until you buy it.Cheers,Bryce

                • Van Rexroad
                  Posted at 14 June, 2013 03:32 AM Reply

                  Why do I really want the Gleim CPA Review? Simply because I want to pass the CPA exams on the first shot! I'm starting my grad degree next fall and really want to knock an exam out of the way this summer and I think Gleim can help me do it. Basically, I want to pass the CPA. That's why I want Gleim. I can't think of any better reason! How would it "improve" my life? Well, I'd pass the CPA exams!! My life would get SO much better if I passed them all on the first shot! Looking forward to winning the Gleim materials! :)

                  • Joel Gomez
                    Posted at 14 June, 2013 00:51 AM Reply

                    Hey, i feel like this giveaway has my name written all over it :)I just graduated college march 2013 with an accounting degree and i am currently working part time monday and fridays. For these past two weeks i have been researching what review course is best for me and im still debating which one to go with cpaexel, yeager or gleim.I have always been a self study type of guy i would skip class just so i could read on my own, because i could set my own pace and go straight to the details in the book. I always hated how my professors would teach only in general terms but would not give you the details of the concepts yet the tests always asked on the smallest details of accounting, so i got use to studying on my own in which i learned more than any lecture. Since this is a more comprehensive cpa review i think the details will fit me perfectly and it doesnt hurt that i can ask a couselor something if i dont get. I will be studying full time with for my cpa so Please help me make my decision and let me know if i win or not and thanks for the chance of winning.Joel

                    • Brian Koleszar
                      Posted at 12 June, 2013 07:20 AM Reply

                      Recently, I graduated with a BBA in Accounting (cum laude) and have started my CPA Examination journey. The first section I will be taking is FAR and have scheduled it for August 8th. I have been using the Gleim Online for FAR and it has been going along pretty good. The pros of Gleim Online are:1.The outline is very concise, to the point, and conveys the main points of the subject matter without excessive “fluff”. It is broken down into 20 study units and each study unit is broken down further into sections. It does not throw a bunch of concepts at you all at once - it is organized - which I like.2.There are a ton of multiple choice questions and the questions are not all “rinky-dink” easy questions. It has a good mix of medium to difficult questions, which require you to think and pay attention. Also, Gleim provides explanations on why the answer is correct, which enhances understanding of the material. Another plus, Gleim’s test emulate what the CPA exam will be like and it also times you to develop time management skills (a definite plus).3.Gleim offers Task-Based Simulations, which emulate the CPA exam. After completing the simulation, it gives explanations on all the answers.4.Value – Gleim Online is more affordable than other CPA reviews.The cons of Gleim Online are:1.The audio-visual presentations are nothing more than regurgitation of the material in the book. This does not bother me though because I learn better from reading and working problems. If you need everything spelled, this is not for you.From what I have heard and researched, the CPA exam can be compared to the “needle in a haystack”, the analogy meaning, the knowledge required is a haystack and you will be tested on the needle. I am confident that Gleim Online will enable me to pass the FAR section of the exam and feel I can conquer all the sections with Gleim. I know the benefits of Gleim and would feel very grateful if I were to win the Gleim for Auditing. And it would pretty much determine what section I will be taking next!

                      • Joe Bullard
                        Posted at 12 June, 2013 05:49 AM Reply

                        I believe the Gleim CPA review course would really help anyone studying for the CPA exam. I took the RTRP exam prep through gleim before starting as an accountant. Gleim not only has a proven track record and guarantee, but I believe the combination of slides, review materials and audio allows the candidate to stay engaged will keeping the material current.Good Luck everyone!

                        • Lilly
                          Posted at 12 June, 2013 00:42 AM Reply

                          Hi,I have heard positive feedback about Gleim CPA Review.Thank you for taking the time to help CPA candidates!Lilly

                          • Lilly
                            Posted at 12 June, 2013 00:39 AM Reply

                            Hello,I would love to use Gleim CPA Audit Course material to study for the CPA exam.Thank you for taking the time to provide this opportunity!Regards,Lilly

                            • Jennifer Howard
                              Posted at 11 June, 2013 22:24 PM Reply

                              I am a full-time senior accountant at a small firm, my firm would like to make me partner and for that I need to finish my CPA! I have passed audit with an 86! The CPA exam is more than a struggle for me, I work a lot of hours all the time since our office has a heavy tax and 6/30 audit season. I use my vacation hours to get in my study hours, and would actually love to take a real vacation when this is all over.I feel that Gleim would help me immensely, simply for the audio recordings. I have a 2 hour commute everyday and it is such a waste for me since, gulp can’t believe I am saying this, I would rather be studying.I have 2 kids, a wonderfully supportive husband. All I need now to make my life perfect is to finish these exams strong! That is why I need Gleim!Thanks for your consideration.

                              • Adam Buckheister
                                Posted at 11 June, 2013 20:50 PM Reply

                                Hi,The Gleim CPA Course would be the promising start that could guide me to my ultimate goal of passing the CPA. I am in Graduate school now and will be sitting for the exams very soon. Thanks for the great opportunity!Adam

                                • Courtney
                                  Posted at 11 June, 2013 20:26 PM Reply

                                  My name is courtney and I am just finishing up my master's program in accounting. I learn best from trial and error, can definitely be both a blessing and a curse ;) , which is why Gleims large amount of multiple questions would be perfect for me. I have looked at buying Rogers CPA review course but it seems a little intense and I tend to do better off studying on my own. Thanks for creating your website, this CPA exam blog provides a lot of information I haven't seen on any other sites and I like your "no BS", just say it how it is opinions on all the review courses. Keep up the good work!

                                  • Stephanie
                                    Posted at 11 June, 2013 16:49 PM Reply

                                    My name is Stephanie and I am a full time auditor for a big four firm in New York. I graduated with my bachelors in accounting and my masters in forensic accouting. Since I graduated I have been studying for the CPA exam. Unfortunately it has been 2 years since I have started and yet have nothing to show as I have lost parts. I have been using Becker, as promoted by my firm but I have found that the material is not quite what I experience on the exam.At this point I have failed Audit three times using Becker and CPA Excel. I have talked with several of my colleagues about what courses they have utilized to become so successful. Most have referred me to Gleim. At this point in my career I need to obtain my CPA in order to receive my promotion, but at current, my extensive travel schedule does not allow much time for studying. I believe Gleim's audio will help me nail the CPA this time through as I can listen to it during my 4 hour car trips to clients. Thank you for offering so many different forms of learning for the preparation of this exam.

                                    • Jennifer
                                      Posted at 11 June, 2013 16:12 PM Reply

                                      Hi,I've been using Becker and have failed (70, 71) the AUD section twice :-/ I need something that is a bit more robust and I've heard great things about Gleim, especially all of the multiple choice questions that are offered. Practice definitely makes perfect and so I want to try something new. I was an Accounting major in college, got my MBA and CFE (certified fraud examiner) and currently am working in Internal Audit YET this section is giving me such a hard time :-(I think a change of pace (new study materials) would be a good fresh start and help keep me motivated to continue because truthfully I feel like throwing in the towel :-/ Winning this review course would give me another chance at really succeeding with this so I definitely want to give it a shot!Thank you in advance for your consideration.Regards,Jennifer

                                      • Gilbert Cavazos
                                        Posted at 11 June, 2013 11:34 AM Reply

                                        My name is Gilbert Cavazos and I am a full-time Auditor for the State of Alaska, a Father of 2 toddlers, a Husband to an Active Duty Military Spouse and a determined accountant who is willing to give it my all to pass the CPA exam.My journey as a business professional started with a passion to help others reach their lifelong dreams. My father, a Mexican immigrant and farm worker, came to the U.S. 38 years ago with hopes that his children would one day earn a college degree so that they would not have to struggle, just to survive. I am a pioneer for my family line through serving my country as a US military veteran, earning my undergrad in Accounting from a prestigious university, and working as a full-time Auditor in State government.I have heard many success stories about how becoming a CPA is a sacrifice worth enduring. My lifelong goal is to become a CPA so I can serve as a mentor for others who will be sitting for the CPA exam in years to come.The features about Gleim CPA that will benefit me the most are: 1) the 90 multiple-choice questions, 2) a task based-simulation that will prepare me for exam day, and 3) a consultation with my personal counselor. While sitting for my first CPA Exam, it was extremely difficult in budgeting my time for each testlet. Had I been more prepared and comfortable in taking 4 testlets prior to exam day, I believe my exam score would have landed me, at least, an 80-85. Further, having my personal counselor available would guide me in improving my time-management skills and bring strength to my areas of weakness within AUD.Partnering with Gleim for my CPA journey will not only prepare me for exam day, but will definitely prepare me for lifelong success—no doubt about it!

                                        • Kim Willims
                                          Posted at 10 June, 2013 06:25 AM Reply

                                          Hello, Gleim work materials has been in existing for years. It would be a pleasure to win Gleim CPA Audit Course.Thanks for this opportunity!

                                          • Nathan Battin
                                            Posted at 9 June, 2013 01:49 AM Reply

                                            Hi,Gleim is the best!Thank you!Nathan