Roger CPA Review

Updated:October 19, 2018
Bryce Welker, CPA
This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page

roger cpa review courses reviews

CRUSH RATING: 
CUSTOMER RATING:
Roger ★★★★★ 4.5
5 1

If you want a review course that has it all, Roger CPA Review is the only one out there for you. Engaging video lessons, affordable pricing options, ample practice questions, intuitive software (SmartPath), human support, and much much more – it’s no wonder that Roger CPA Review is my favorite and number one recommended course.

The biggest standout for Roger CPA Review is Roger Philipp, and his video lectures. He has been teaching CPA exam review courses for more than 25 years and is the only person I know that makes accounting interesting. During his tenure, he has helped over 100,000 students pass the CPA exam.

Roger combines best in class lectures with their own SmartPath technology. This data-driven approach helps maximizing your study time by serving you the right questions.  The ultimate result is more efficient study sessions, and less wasted time.

Roger CPA Review offers three different course packages with Premier being the most popular, so that is the specific course package I will be referencing throughout my review. Let’s dive into the details of this prep course and see if it’s the right fit for you!

Contents

Overview of Roger CPA Review 2018 Course

Roger CPA Review Elite Course Package snapshot (product details):

  • $2,999 (Get Crush discount!)
  • 100+ hours of video lectures
  • NEW SmartPath Technology
  • Electronic and physical textbooks
  • 6,200 multiple choice questions and task based simulations
  • CPA Exam Simulator with unlimited full length practice exams
  • Homework Help Center Access
  • Customizable study planners
  • Free material updates
  • Unlimited course access
  • Offline lectures available on USB drive

2018 Roger CPA Review Updates

This year the AICPA is launching a much improved user experience to the CPA Exam.  To ensure students are fully prepared, Roger’s program will reflect these changes when students take a quiz or full practice exam. This will help ensure there’s no surprises when you sit for the exam.

What’s Included in Roger’s Review Course?

Multiple Choice Questions

Included in Roger’s course are 5,800 multiple choice questions that are organized into “Interactive Practice Questions.” I found these to be very easy to navigate through and each question provided me with an explanation for why my answer was either right or wrong. This functionality was helpful for understanding new concepts and being able to learn while I practiced with the questions.

Your questions are tracked and broken down into performance reports that detail your strengths and weaknesses by individual section. These analytics are useful to help you figure out what topics need more study time. Roger’s adaptive technology is okay, but it’s not used throughout the entire course, so you will have to use the performance reports to guide your course towards your weaker areas.

Task Based Simulations

In addition to the thousands of practice multiple choice questions, Roger CPA Review also provides 400 task-based simulations. These have been pulled directly from AICPA released questions and they include the all new Document Review Simulation question type that is now included in the CPA Exam since April 2017.

I found the task-based simulations to be complex enough that they challenged and tested my knowledge.

Practice Exams

With Roger CPA Review, you will have unlimited full-length practice exams. By using Roger’s CPA Exam Simulator, you will be practicing with questions in a format that mirrors the look and structure of the actual CPA Exam (including the new 5 testlet structure that was introduced in 2017). You’ll have the opportunity to see what it’s like to take the set amount of questions with a time limit so you can perfect your test taking strategy and time management.

SmartPath Predictive Analytics

This is a new addition to Roger’s CPA Review course and it certainly benefits anyone who is trying to study smarter. SmartPath helps you pass faster by comparing each candidate’s individual progress to candidates who have passed the CPA exam using the Roger CPA Review course.

With SmartPath, you will never have to go into the CPA exam blind. You will know exactly where you stand and therefore have confidence that you are on the same path as a successful candidate. This also allows you to manage your time effectively by improving the areas that don’t compare positively to successful students.

 

Flashcards

Roger CPA Review Elite package comes with digital flashcards so you can take your studies on the go. You will be able to study from over 200 terms and summaries per CPA exam section. These are a great way to gauge your progress and identify your strengths and weaknesses. You are not only provided digital flashcards, but also a mnemonic aid that helps you remember details on exam day.

 

 

Video Lectures

The video lessons are what makes Roger CPA Review really stand out from the rest. Roger Phillip has more energy and enthusiasm than any other accounting instructor I have seen. His teaching style demands your attention and makes the notoriously boring material much more interesting. Out of all the other CPA review courses out there, Roger’s video lectures are hands down the best.

With Roger, you will have access to over 100 hours of CPA exam video lessons that are broken down into 10-30 minute lectures. You will also have the ability to adjust the speed of each video and add closed captions/subtitles for English. This is great for international students, candidates with hearing disabilities, and people who are short on time and want to watch the videos faster.

You can highlight directly on the eTextbook as you watch the video lectures so you can have all your notes in one place that’s easy accessible from anywhere. Roger’s video lectures force you to follow along manually with your textbook, which i think it great because then you won’t be on auto-pilot when watching the lecture. If you want a course that has lectures that keep you on your toes, Roger is definitely the way to go.

Dashboard/UX

Roger completely redesigned its dashboard to be cleaner and more user friendly. Your dashboard can track all of your lectures and your progress into your study schedule. Each individual topic is contained within each header where it tells you how long each video will take to complete and the material you need to read along with the lecture.

The course is mobile friendly so you can easily navigate through Roger CPA Review no matter what device you want to use–tablet, phone, laptop, or whatever!

Roger CPA review course User Experience (UX)

The course is mobile friendly so you can easily navigate through Roger CPA Review no matter what device you want to use–tablet, phone, laptop, or whatever!

The CPA exam study planner is not as good as other courses I have used. Instead of having a study planner that can adapt your course to your unique needs, the Roger CPA Review study planner is a simple spreadsheet that is automatically filled with the dates you plug in on the dashboard. Hopefully Roger CPA Review will change its dated study planner to something that’s more dynamic and can be easily adjusted.

Customer Support

Roger CPA Review prides itself on having real CPAs ready to help you with any questions you may run into while studying. You are guaranteed a 24 hour response time 24/7, but from what I experienced it was much faster than that. Plus, you get to actually talk to a real person, which is helpful in stressful study rut. You can also go through other student’s questions to see if your questions have already been answered. It’s important to note while all students have Homework Help Center read and search access, you’ll need the Premier or Elite course packages have question posting ability.

Roger CPA customer service and homework help center

Course Access and Updates

Roger’s course access varies depending on what course package you decide on. The Roger CPA Elite Course Package comes with UNLIMITED access so you never have to worry about it expiring and definitely makes it worth the extra money. Their Premier Course Package comes with 24 months of access and the Select Course Package includes 18 months of access.

6 month extensions are also available for Roger’s Select Course Package for $200 if you want to boost your 18 months to 24 months. And if there’s ever an update to the CPA exam content, your course will automatically update itself at no cost to you.

What Course Packages Does Roger CPA Review offer?

Roger CPA Review comes in three different types of course packages that vary in price. Check out what is included in the Select, Premier, and the Elite course packages to see which course would best suit your study needs. (I highly suggest the Elite so you can use Roger’s audio lectures, they’re incredible!)

 Course PackageSelectPremierElite
Cost$1,699$2,299$2,999
100 + hours of video lecture
SmartPath Technology
Electronic and physical course textbooks
6,200+ multiple choice questions and task-based simulations
CPA Exam Simulator with an unlimited amount of full length practice exams
Integrated study tools for enhanced learning & retention
Homework Help Center Read Access
Homework Help Center Posting Access
Customizable study planners
Unlimited Course Access18 Months24 Months
Free material updates
Offline Lectures on USB drive
CPA Exam Flashcards
Audio Lectures
Roger Cram Course
Link to CourseGet StartedGet StartedGet Started

Roger CPA Review Discount Codes & Financing Options

Roger CPA Review offers financing plans if you are a student on a budget or your firm is not funding your study material. Monthly payments can be as low as $149 a month. And, depending on your credit rate, Roger will charge you a interest rate from 0-30% APR. To learn more about these financing options, click here.

Roger is always offering a variety of discounts. You can use the 20% Off Fresh Start Discount if you have purchased a CPA review course that didn’t work out well, cost over $400, and would like to switch to Roger CPA Review. Or, if you are a college student currently enrolled in 12 units or graduated within the last 60 days, you can use the 10% Off Student Discount. Whatever your situation, you can see all Roger CPA discounts and make sure you get the best deal possible.

The biggest Roger CPA promo code offers are limited-time discounts exclusively for Crush the CPA Exam readers! Check out the offer here!

Roger CPA Review FAQs

Here are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions candidates ask about Roger CPA Review!

How do I use the Roger CPA Review on my mobile device?

A: Simple! Just use the browser on your phone, tablet, or other mobile device to log into your student account. The lectures will be formatted to fit your screen for easy viewing. However, many of the videos are too large to work on 3G or 4G networks, and most students need to be connected to wifi.

What happens if I have a questions about concepts?

A: For those extra challenging questions, you can use the Homework Help Center to easily search over 17,000 student-submitted questions with answers from expert CPAs.  For students of Premier or Elite course packages, you can also post questions directly to the CPA experts.

How long do I have to wait for my Roger CPA Review Course after I ordered it?

A: As soon as you receive your order confirmation email, you can access your online lectures. The physical study materials that accompany your order need 24-48 business hours to process, but you should expect to receive those within 2-7 business days from Roger’s San Francisco office.

Am I allowed to copy/paste/print the online book?

A: Because of the strict copyright policies on all Roger CPA Review materials, you will not be able to save, copy, paste, or print any of the content from the online book.

What’s a video bookmark?

A: A video bookmark is a tool that you can use to easily mark a point in your Roger lecture that you would like to come back to. You can bookmark an area where you are having difficulty, a point that you want to remember to write down, or for any other reason. Feel free to make as many or as few as you need!

What are the differences between Roger’s Cram Course and their regular course?

A: The regular course is designed to be comprehensive and cover every topic tested on exam day. The Cram Course is made to be a quick review of many of the heavily-tested topics on the exam. Your Cram Course is designed as a summary and final “cram” that you complete immediately before you sit for the CPA exam. The Cram Course should not be used as a replacement for a complete CPA prep course.

Can I watch Roger lectures offline when I don’t have internet access?

A: Offline lectures are available in Elite and Premier course packages. You also have the option to purchase the Offline Lectures in the form of a portable USB external hard drive. These lectures are in addition to your Online Course, but you will be able to view these Offline lectures without the use of the internet.

How many times can I watch the Offline Lectures?

A: Your Offline Lectures will reflect the time and subject matter you’ve purchased for your online course (either 18 or 24 months).

How many computers can I install the Offline Lectures?

A: You are allowed to install your Offline Lectures external hard drive on TWO computers. You must contact Roger CPA Review in order to request your second installation.

Roger CPA Review VS Becker

Roger and Becker are both very popular review course choices for CPA Exam candidates. I think it’s really clear that Roger is better, but let’s quickly compare the two so you can see their differences (for a more detailed comparison, check out my article here).

At $3,393 for all 4 sections, Becker’s CPA Review is more than twice expensive as Roger’s CPA prep course. Priced at a much more reasonable $1,695, Roger CPA Review costs about the market average for CPA review courses. When it comes to course access, Becker software expires after 18 months while the Roger CPA Review Premier package gives you an additional 6-month extension for a total of 24 months. Roger’s Elite Package comes with UNLIMITED course access is much more affordable than Becker so this is definitely the option I’d recommend.

Becker does not update its practice exams, simulations, or video lectures for free. Each time the material covered on the CPA exam changes or a new textbook or questions come out, you will have to pay for the most current study material. In contrast, all Roger CPA Review packages include free updates to materials.

The biggest difference between these courses is the video lectures and technology. Roger is far superior to Becker in content and presentation. Roger’s personality keeps you engaged through even the most boring segments, which definitely cannot be said for the Becker CPA video lectures. Roger also includes SmartPath technology allowing you to focus on your trouble areas and pass faster. Becker currently does not offer anything similar to Smartpath.

Who is Roger CPA Review Best For?

I really like the unique teaching style of Roger CPA Review and appreciate the fact that he can take any accounting topic and make it interesting. The way he uses mnemonics to help students remember detailed information is extremely effective, and you won’t get this with any other CPA review course.

The newest addition to the Roger CPA Review Course, SmartPath, will have you studying efficiently so you can pass the CPA exam faster. So if you are a student who needs to pass and would like the best way to do so, use Roger CPA Review. Try out the course’s free trial and see for yourself!

$700 Off Roger CPA Elite Course

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Exclusive Discount, Deep Discount 35 uses today
CPA 41 uses today
Save $700 Off on this stellar review course with this Roger CPA Premier promo code. Thanks to his engaging lectures, this course has been a staple of the industry for years and it’s all yours for less thanks to our Roger CPA discount code. With these savings, there’s nothing to lose, so use the Roger CPA coupon and get studying today.
More
Last Used 10 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

Roger CPA Review Elite Course Coupon – $700 OFF!

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Exclusive Discount 40 uses today
CPA 34 uses today
Take $700 off, making Roger CPA’s Elite course the same price as their Premier course!  Act fast this offer won’t come around again anytime soon. See Roger CPA’s website for full details and restrictions.
Last Used 26 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 21, 2018

SAVE 20% – Roger CPA Review – Audio Course

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Deep Discount 39 uses today
CPA 36 uses today
Take 20% Off Roger CPA Review Audio Course for a limited time with this exclusive Crush The CPA coupon code. See Roger CPA’s website for full details and restrictions.
Last Used 2 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

SAVE 20% – Roger CPA Review – Fresh Start Special

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Deep Discount 33 uses today
CPA 37 uses today
Take 20% Off off a one-time purchase of Roger CPA Review Courses & Product. See Roger CPA’s website for full details and restrictions.
Last Used 11 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

SAVE 20% – Roger CPA Review – CRAM Course

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Deep Discount 36 uses today
CPA 35 uses today
Take 20% Off Roger CPA Review CRAM Course for a limited time with this exclusive Crush The CPA coupon code. See Roger CPA’s website for full details and restrictions.
Last Used 1 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

Roger CPA Financing Offer

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Financing Offer 41 uses today
CPA 41 uses today
For just $183 a month, you can get the Roger CPA review course with an affordable financing plan. Don’t hesitate—start studying for the CPA exam now thanks to this great Roger CPA financing deal. 
Last Used 10 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

Roger Weekly Discounts

OVERALL RATING: ★★★★★
CPA, Roger CPA Review, Other 34 uses today
CPA 37 uses today
Get up to $800 & 30% off with these great Roger CPA coupon codes to start studying for less today! You may qualify for the Roger CPA Official Promo Codes, such as Fresh Start, Firm, Student, and Newsletter discounts. 
More
Last Used 10 minutes ago
Expiration Date: October 19, 2018

Roger CPA Review Course Information

Roger CPA Review
Strengths 
1.Course Textbooks
2.Entertaining Lectures
3.10% Off Discount Code
4.Memorization Strategies
5.Audio Review Course
6.Financing Options

 

Roger CPA Review
5 / 5 stars

Have you tried Roger CPA Review?

Name
Email
Course Name
Rating
Review Content

Roger CPA

Roger
★★★★☆
4 5 1
I used Roger CPA and i'd say that it's a pretty good review course for those that have been out of school for awhile, like myself. I'm a visual learner but need something to keep my attention--Roger's videos were great because they were the right length and Roger's upbeat personality helped keep me engaged. The review course definitely has enough MCQ and SIMS for you to practice. I think the only negative i'd have is the books had information overload so I found myself not having a clear understanding of what I needed to know for the exams.

Roger CPA Review

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
First, I am a Becker student. I started out with Becker back in 1998 when I was young and ambitious and sat for all four parts of the exam in one day. Needless to say, I passed one section-back then, you had to pass two to receive any credit. So fast forward to 2015. I was able to get sections from Becker for 1/2 off because "once a Becker student, always a Becker student". I started with REG. I watched the videos which had the same two instructors from 1998. The multiple choice questions are the best part of Becker. The videos put me to sleep - same old stories/jokes from 1998. I did not pass. In 2017, I decided to try ROGER. The videos/lectures are great. Roger has a great personality. He kept me engaged in the material. Now they've upgraded there practice questions so that you can track your progress even better than before. They've also added a mobile app so that I can listen to the lectures and review the questions anywhere. With Roger, my score on REG was 71! Sooooo close! I don't think I ever received anything over 66 with Becker. I'm sticking with Roger from here on out. They even offer a discount for former students from other review courses.

Roger CPA

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
I passes FAR with Roger

Roger CPA Review

Roger
★★★★☆
4 5 1
Roger CPA Review Course is one of the best tools on the market that a candidate can use to pass the CPA exam. The lectures are the most entertaining on the market. Roger is provides insightful information, advice, tips, and a wonderful learning experience on what could be considered a rather dull series of topics. The dashboard is intuitive and allows the user to easily access the different tools of the course, including the customer service section. What's keeping me from giving Roger 5 stars has to do with the MCQs. When I utilized the course, I needed to supplement Roger with an additional test bank to help get me through. However, the course has made substantial improvements in this area. I highly recommend every candidate to consider Roger!

Roger

Roger
★★★☆☆
3 5 1
background about me: ESL student. Studied undergrad and master in the US. non accounting major. age 30+, finished FAR only. I chose roger because the videos are fun. he helps you to memorize the stuff. some of the topics he did explain it very well especially those new to me e.g. gov and acquisition. HOWEVER, his text books are SUCKS. Becker has a better textbook organization. Roger books have typos, not labeling which section is which. Compare to becker the section is super cleared. Also roger textbook has too many words. English is not my first language. I have no problem to listen to roger explanation, but i have difficulties when he READ out his text book. Becker you know which line and page they are on. Roger you need to search by yourselves! If Roger can improve his textbook. I will definitely give 10 stars! and also Roger will send all the books to you at once! so if they got anything updates later. you dont have the latest copy!

Roger Elite Course

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
The Roger CPA Elite is a great tool for studying for the CPA exam. The major factor in my deciding to go with Roger CPA was the amount of material compared to similar options. Also, the Elite package does not have a time limit. Because life happens, I wanted longer than 18 months for a couple thousand dollars of my hard earned money. I used the coupon code found here on the Crush website. The interface is easy to use. The new SmartPath system track your progress compared to other students who passed the exam. It is very helpful in knowing where you stand in preparedness. I highly recommend this course!

Roger CPA

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
It's hard for me to overstate how strongly I stand behind Roger CPA. I purchased access to another review course and was immediately discouraged by the product--basically, just a detailed outline and mini-videos reading portions of the outline. So, when I found Roger CPA, I was incredibly relieved. Roger CPA is a fantastic tool if you are someone who is driven and fairly self-motivated. There are sequential lectures to work through, but after that, the review process does depend a bit upon your own motivation. That being said, the most valuable tool of all is Roger CPA's SmartPath tool. If you've ever asked yourself, "Sure, I feel like I know this stuff, but I don't know if I know it as much as others who have passed it. How do I compare?", SmartPath is the tool you've been waiting for. By crowdsourcing CPA exam scores, SmartPath tells you how many practice questions you need to answer and how many of those you need to get correct in order to be in line with others who have passed. Mystery solved! You just keep working through until you meet the targets and you're in good shape--doing this, I was able to pass FAR and REG on my first try!

Roger

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
Great course! Excited to have this help me pass!

Roger

Roger
★★★★☆
4 5 1
For the past few months, (approximately 6 months) I have been using Roger. I used to use Becker (approx 1 yrs). But I switch to Roger not because I did not like Becker but I no longer had the free subscription and I couldn't afford it out of pocket at the time. Roger was within my budget. I feel both Roger and Becker are good. However, basis on your experience in the material and your study habits, I would prefer one over the other. To me, Roger provides good lesson but doesn't dive in the topics as much, compared to Becker. Becker provides more technical teachings and gives more details in their lessons. Rogers is basic and straight to the point. Because, some areas in the CPA exam, I do not practice on a daily basis (ie, Auditing), Roger was not as helpful, in my opinion. I would have to seek outside assistance. But I will say, as a plus, with Roger, the videos are more entertaining. So I never felt bored. I could easily go over the lessons without feeling overwhelmed.

6692647148

Roger
★★★★★
5 5 1
Course videos is the striking feature of this course. Roger keeps the videos live and I wouldn’t be exaggerating if I say he keeps the students entertained (while learning along the way). Even though I have studied audit in the past, I find his tips and techniques useful. There are more than 1200 interactive practice questions with timer options, explanations to answers. We can customize the quiz based on individual chapter or all chapters to test our application of knowledge. I used this feature a lot to clear my concepts and increase application. The video lectures coupled with the SmartPath technology in IPQs is the outstanding feature of this package. Dashboard is easy to navigate and extremely user friendly. Further, the Customer service is efficient. Whenever, I have raised a query, I have received a response within a time frame of 2 hours. The course looks definitely good value for me. Infact not only the video lectures, I also find the audio lectures helpful to keep listening while on the go. However, I feel the following 2 points need attention: There is no feature to download the notes to the IPQs (as is available for downloading notes to the lectures). The audio lectures are not aligned to the video lectures. if this is done, it would enable quick switch over between the 2 modes of learning.
Roger Overall rating: ★★★★★ 4.5 based on 18 reviews
5 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

86 Comments
  • Vick
    Posted at 14 February, 2018 17:45 PM Reply

    Hello All, I have a masters degree. Out of college for 20 years. Thinking of pursuing CPA. No accounting experience. is there anyone who is in a similar situation like me? Which course is an ideal choice?

    • DH
      Posted at 2 June, 2017 20:52 PM Reply

      Hi. I appreciate all your reviews. I am been contemplating Roger CPA again for several months. I originally studied for the exam several years back and did not finish all of them in the 18 month period and gave up. I really would like this certification to help my career. I am much older than most and have numerous years of accounting experience. I have tried Becker and Gleim but these programs were not a good fit. When I used Rogers review it was much better and I was able to pass a few exams. The only issues I had with Rogers review was the homework help and their database for questions and simulations. I am trying to find a program that helps explain concepts and is entertaining. Would you suggest Rogers review or is there another program that might work better.

      • BWelk
        Posted at 8 June, 2017 18:45 PM Reply

        The course I would recommend for great student support is Yaeger. This course has a personal touch that many students have found to be helpful. However, this course is not nearly as cutting edge or engaging as Roger's CPA review course. I would check out Yaeger's trial to see if the content is engaging enough for you before you select a course. Check out this article I wrote comparing the two courses – Good luck!

      • Amanda
        Posted at 7 April, 2017 19:37 PM Reply

        Hi! Thank you for all of the reviews. I work full time and am getting a Master's in Accounting. I will be graduation in November, I also have a BBA and MBA, and want to be prepared to take the CPA exam and quickly as possible. My classes are a fully online, fast paced program so I don't want to take too much on, but I don't want to put off my CPA prep either. Since my classes have been online I would prefer a more engaging prep program. I was looking at Becker, but after reading that the live/live-online may not be the best, your review of Roger then caught my attention. Which would you suggest? Thanks!

        • BWelk
          Posted at 10 April, 2017 17:46 PM Reply

          Amanda, I would check out Wiley! The bite-sized lessons makes it a very easy course to study with, even with a busy schedule. I found this to be the most engaging course and it allowed me to pace my study plan to my needs and time restrictions. You can take a look at my full review here -

        • efred1
          Posted at 28 March, 2017 01:49 AM Reply

          I am having second thoughts about my recent Roger purchase. They advertise "24/7 access to supportive staff and Homework Help Center for assistance from expert CPAs". Unfortunately, I have asked questions on the Homework Help Center on a Saturday, and not gotten a response until Monday. I was told by one moderator to wait up to 4 days for a response! I have also run into technical problems with the materials not being completely updated to 2017. Though I ordered after they promised everything was updated, I had to repeat a very slow download of my audio course because it was not current. I have also run into several errors in the latest textbook (as have other students, judging by the moderator's responses on the Homework Help Center agreeing that the student found errors would be forwarded somewhere to be posted as errata). Though Roger is definitely entertaining, if it were not for the audio course (I commute 3 hours a day), I would probably return the materials. I bought the elite course, and shelled out a lot of money for something that basically is not delivering 100% of what was promised.

          • Chi
            Posted at 6 November, 2016 21:24 PM Reply

            Hi Bryce,Thank you for your review. The format is very well laid out and informative. I am currently using Roger CPA Review to study for REG and I am worried the MCQ and TBS may be too easy and I am not sure if the CPA exam will be similar. Do you think their test banks are enough to pass the exam or should I supplement with a third party test bank? I looked at Wiley's test bank and they have about the same amount of MCQ as Roger CPA Review. I saw Ninja test bank had over 1,000 more MCQ questions in total. So I am not sure if it's worth spending the extra money to purchase an additional test bank.

            • BWelk
              Posted at 7 November, 2016 21:07 PM Reply

              Ya if you feel like you could benefit from more practice questions then I'd highly suggest Wiley's CPA Test Bank. It's much higher quality than the Ninja CPA test bank so I'd definitely start there.Cheers,Bryce

              • Puneet sayal
                Posted at 9 November, 2016 02:06 AM Reply

                Hey can u please review about becker.I found its material short and relevant for exams.And their software for classes and questions is also good.Moreover i heard that beckers material is best among all ,Is it so?

            • Aleks
              Posted at 10 October, 2016 00:39 AM Reply

              Hi Bryce,I want to thank you for your comprehensive review of the CPA courses. I need your advice. I received my Masters in Taxation in 1996. I worked as a tax and accounting consultant for 14 years, controller for 6 years; I didn't need the CPA designation until now. My years of work experience will not give me the professional growth without the CPA designation. So here I am, I was contemplating Becker's fast paced 6-week review course and sitting for all four parts of the CPA exam by January 30 (Becker's recommendation), until I came across your review site and had the Roger CPA Review catch my attention. My concern is will Roger's course give me the information (out of school for so many years) and format I need to attempt all four parts of the CPA before March 2017?

              • BWelk
                Posted at 28 October, 2016 21:18 PM Reply

                Yes Roger's course is probably the best option for people trying to pass as quickly as possible. The lectures move through the material quickly but also are comprehensive enough to cover everything that you'll see on the test.Good luck in your studies!Bryce

              • Sreyashi
                Posted at 6 August, 2016 10:39 AM Reply

                Hi Bryce,So am a kind of battered by the vagaries of failing in Regulation twice just by 2 marks, i had done the review course of Gleim. Could you suggest which one is the best in terms of clearing my concepts and practicing the TBS and MCQs? Though i have a day job of 10-12 hours.

                • BWelk
                  Posted at 15 August, 2016 23:05 PM Reply

                  Roger CPA Review has a better overall course than Gleim including the simulations and MCQs.Cheers,Bryce

                • Reid
                  Posted at 5 July, 2016 22:05 PM Reply

                  Hi Bryce,I currently am a practicing accountant. I had big 4 experience, and passed the BEC portion of the exam. Due to busy seasons, I lost this test and will need to start over. I used Becker, which was recommended by PwC, however I was not a big fan of Becker. It seemed like too much information, and with a limited amount of time now that I am working, it wasn't the best learning experience from me. What would you suggest instead? I am a visual learner, and learn things by doing more problems.

                  • Independent thinker
                    Posted at 15 June, 2016 18:35 PM Reply

                    Hello,I am a Post Bac Accounting student and will be eligible to take CPA exam on Fall 2017. Could you please advise me which prep course will help best for non-native speaker, English is my third language.Thank you!

                    • Joey
                      Posted at 15 June, 2016 05:30 AM Reply

                      Hi Bryce,I have listened to some sample Roger lectures and I really like Roger’s enthusiasm and I think his lectures can keep my attention and help me retain the information. However, since I have never taken a few major accounting courses (Non-profit/Governmental accounting, advanced accounting and corporate tax) in college, do you think the materials covered in Roger alone will be sufficient in passing the CPA exams? Or do I need to supplement Roger with other materials from other review courses to nail all the concepts that will be tested on the exam? What would you suggest?Thank you!

                      • Eunica Laranang
                        Posted at 5 May, 2016 21:11 PM Reply

                        Hello Bryce,Thank you so much for these great and informative reviews. I am currently a senior in college graduating this May. I want to focus on studying and passing my CPA exam right after graduation. I might have a part time job (about 20 hours) and I don't have a lot of responsibilities yet. I just want to focus on my CPA and pass ASAP. I am a hands on learner so it's best for me to learn the topic and do a lot of problem examples on them. I also want to be able to ask questions from professionals if something doesn't make sense. Which CPA exam review would you recommend? Thank you

                        • BWelk
                          Posted at 19 May, 2016 21:22 PM Reply

                          Hi Eunica,Yaeger CPA Review offers an instructor hotline that you can call in and get help on anything you are stuck on which I think would be a good fit for you. I'd suggest supplementing their course with Wiley's CPA test bank because it's relatively inexpensive and will give you thousands of extra practice problems to work on.Cheers,Bryce

                        • Kim
                          Posted at 20 April, 2016 20:42 PM Reply

                          Ok ... Got a question ... Have a BA in Accounting 9 years ago ... Have a MBA and gaining a MS in Taxation to enhance a tax prep business I own .... I am definitely a visual learner who does not do that well with online learning but I'm intrigued by his techniques described. Would you recommend this program for me?

                          • BWelk
                            Posted at 26 April, 2016 22:45 PM Reply

                            Hi Kim, I think Rogers course will definitely help you be a better online learner and it's definitely the best option for visual learners like yourself so would definitely recommend it.Cheers,Bryce

                          • Guest
                            Posted at 19 April, 2016 06:56 AM Reply

                            Hello Bryce, Thanks a ton for the detailed review. I would like to ask you one thing- How would you compare Roger notes/textbooks vs Becker's notes/textbook? Becker's text looks impressive but just wanted to know your recommendation as well. TIA

                            • BWelk
                              Posted at 20 April, 2016 05:26 AM Reply

                              Hi,I prefer Roger's textbooks over Beckers because they are more concise and the information is better organized than Beckers.Cheers,Bryce

                              • Guest
                                Posted at 28 April, 2016 05:33 AM Reply

                                Thanks Bryce for your advise. My plan is to take CPA only in 2017 as I am currently committed with other courses. I am also aware of 2017 changes. According to these changes, exams are shifting or giving more focus to sims rather than MCQs like before. if that's the case, is there a need to supplement Roger's MCQs with some other review material? How about sims?

                                • BWelk
                                  Posted at 19 May, 2016 21:03 PM Reply

                                  Hi,The best way to prepare for the SIMS is to do more MCQs. If you don't feel well prepared after completing Roger's course then I would suggest supplementing it with the Wiley CPA Test Bank. This is an affordable and effective way to score higher on the SIMS.Cheers,Bryce

                            • Victoria Benitez
                              Posted at 28 March, 2016 14:34 PM Reply

                              Hi. I am trying to decide on a CPA review course. I am a single mother of a busy 11 year old girl. I would like something with flexibility, however I have never taken online classes before. I have been out of school for 2 years. What would you recommend?

                              • BWelk
                                Posted at 31 March, 2016 20:12 PM Reply

                                Hi Victoria,I'd suggest signing up for a free trial of both Roger CPA Review and Wiley CPAexcel and choosing the one that best fits your learning style. Roger is better for visual learners and Wiley is better for self-study students who prefer to learn from reading the text and doing lots of practice questions.Cheers,Bryce

                              • kriti diwan
                                Posted at 20 January, 2016 05:22 AM Reply

                                Hey Bryce, Thanks a ton for your reviews. I recently purchased roger's review course and was wondering if I still need to supplement the test bank with another one? It looks like roger's test bank was not upto the mark but they have made significant improvements this year. Is their test bank sufficient now or should I purchase another one?ThanksKriti

                                • BWelk
                                  Posted at 21 January, 2016 23:35 PM Reply

                                  Hi Kriti,I would suggest using Roger's test bank and then once you finish studying for the entire CPA exam section if feel like you need more practice then go out and purchase an additional test bank.Cheers,Bryce

                                • Melanie Gorber
                                  Posted at 14 January, 2016 21:42 PM Reply

                                  I have been away from the Accounting CPA exam type work environment for a long time. I am scared to purchase a program that is geared to the fresh out of college and free time to study person. I am not that person. I see that everyone says the course is fast I am okay with that if there is not an assumption of the levels for the students? Yeager scare me a little. Becker has too much material.

                                  • BWelk
                                    Posted at 14 January, 2016 22:47 PM Reply

                                    Hi Melanie,Have you watched any of Roger's videos? They now have a feature that allows you to slow down the video lectures which would be useful for you. Yaeger offers the most video lecture hours of any of the courses (120 hours total) so if you wanted to have a little more in-depth explanations that teach at a slower pace then that might be a good fit for you.Cheers,Bryce

                                  • Adam Barron
                                    Posted at 5 January, 2016 00:56 AM Reply

                                    I am trying to decide between Becker, Wiley CPA Excel and Rogers. I amseeing posts from a few months ago that Rogers had numerous technicalglitches/issues. Is anyone using Rogers (or recently was) still experiencing issues with the program? Through my employer Becker is $2100 so the pricing for all 3 is fairly close. I see Rogers as having morevibrant lectures and may provide more helpful tips than the others. Butthe package I am looking at for Wiley for around $1850 with their currentdiscount is offering everything I could want from unlimited use to lectures toflash cards. Is giving up the extras for a better lecturer (Rogers) worthit? Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

                                    • Jenna J
                                      Posted at 4 February, 2016 16:59 PM Reply

                                      I haven't experienced glitches in quite some time and even when I did they didn't happen very often. My employer covered the entire cost of Becker, however I still purchased the entire Roger CPA Review Course. Becker will put you to sleep, the lessons are boring and overwhelming. Go with Roger, he's the best.

                                    • Amber Jones
                                      Posted at 10 November, 2015 12:15 PM Reply

                                      Hi!I'm considering purchasing the Roger CPA or Gleim vs re buying Becker only based off reviews ratings. I'm hoping it will be more effective than Becker. I work long hours at a Big 4 & went through Becker kind of frustrated & felt unprepared in the exams.I don't see Becker rated highly on any of the review sites, but everyone I know uses it. Personally, I felt the amount of material in one sitting was over whelming, the lectures were not engaging, & I wasn't prepared well for the exam simulation.Any recommendations before I buy?

                                      • Tanya Downey
                                        Posted at 6 November, 2015 01:35 AM Reply

                                        It's been 11 years since I graduated with my degree in acucounting. I have worked in public accounting for 10 years. I have used both Becker and Bisk in the past and failed both the financial and auditing portions of the CPA exam miserably. I am debating between Roger and Yaeger but am unsure which would be better. Any suggestions?Thanks,Tanya

                                        • Jake Dalnes
                                          Posted at 21 September, 2015 14:37 PM Reply

                                          I'm looking at purchasing the Roger review and I am just wondering if its worth it to purchase the elite package for about $800 more than the premier package or if the premier package will do just fine. Your thoughts? Thanks!

                                          • BWelk
                                            Posted at 23 September, 2015 22:13 PM Reply

                                            Hi Jake,The Premier package is definitely enough to pass all your exams. I would only suggest the Elite packageif you haven't decided how to do your final review yet because their Cram Course is the biggest advantage of the bigger package.If you want to see how I planned out my Final Review then check out: By doing your own final review and going with the Premier course you will actually save $1,050 since you can use my $250 OFF coupon code here, Cheers,Bryce

                                            • Larissa
                                              Posted at 25 October, 2015 17:59 PM Reply

                                              I don't think you can use your coupon with the $1695 package. Would be ice though :)

                                              • BWelk
                                                Posted at 27 October, 2015 18:43 PM Reply

                                                Correct, the current coupon code is for the Premier course only. However, this changes periodically so please check the discounts page to see Roger CPA Review's latest offers: