Alaska CPA Exam & License Requirements

Alaska CPA Exam & License Requirements

In Alaska, CPA candidates may sit for the exam before they graduate as long as they are within 18 semester hours of graduation. They also allow non-accounting majors to take the CPA exam as long as they have one year of  experience in a public accounting firm. Overall Alaska has some of the most flexible CPA license requirements.

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher
  • US citizenship NOT required
  • State residency NOT required
  • No age requirement

Education Requirements:

All first-time applicants must meet ONE of the following requirements:

  1. Degree and Accounting concentration which includes:
  • a completed bachelor’s degree
  • 24 semester hours in Accounting
  • 3 semester hours in Business Law
  • 3 semester hours in Economics
  • 3 semester hours in college level math, statistics and/or computer science
  1. Degree and Accounting concentration which includes:
  •  Bachelor’s degree
  • 15 semester hours in Accounting
  1. Degree In-Progress and Accounting concentration which includes:
  • Applicant is within 18 semester hours of completing a bachelor’s degree
  • 15 semester hours in Accounting.
  1. Degree and no Accounting concentration which includes:
  • Bachelor’s degree
  • Less than 15 semester hours in Accounting
  • One year of public accounting experience under the direct supervision of a Certified Public Accountant

Alaska Exam Fees

The cost to take all four sections of the CPA exam in Alaska is $743 plus the initial $150 application fee for a total of $893.  All re-examination candidates are required to pay a registration fee between $65-$110 in addition to their exam fees depending on how many sections they are registering for.

Auditing and Attestation (AUD)$193.35
Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)$176.25
Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)$195.35
Regulation (REG)$176.25
Application Fee:$150

AK CPA License Requirements

In addition to the above requirements, there are a few more in order to obtain a CPA license:

  • Pass all 4 sections of the CPA exam with a score of 75 or higher
  • Pass the CPA ethics exam administered by the AICPA
  • Pay the $390 certification fee + $300 license application fee
  • Submit all required paperwork

For more information, please visit:

What’s Next?

Now that you have started the CPA exam application process, your next step is to find a CPA review course that fits your budget, learning style and schedule.

It can take several weeks for your application to be processed so don’t waste that valuable time waiting to hear back from your state board.  If you start studying now you will get a nice jump start on the material and will be better prepared to pass your first CPA exam!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 Comments
  • frank
    Posted at 16 August, 2014 23:34 PM Reply

    Hi, I am from Canada and I am interested in doing a CPA and just wanted to know if Alaska would accept working under a Chartered Accountant (CA) instead of a CPA. Thanks

    • BWelk
      Posted at 18 August, 2014 10:51 AM Reply

      Frank,You will need to work under a CPA not a CA.-Bryce

    • hai
      Posted at 31 October, 2013 18:07 PM Reply

      Thank you so much for so much helpful information. I'm doing careful research on my possibility of taking the CPA test. I think Alaska seems to be a good choice as I studied university in japan (4 years degree) with 12 credits on accounting (I am not sure my count will be accepted though). So I just have to take a 3 credit course.what should i do to get the rest of 3 credit hour on accounting to be able to take the test? Take an online accounting course? Any qualified one that u can recommend? I would really appreciate it. Thank you so much.

      • Bryce
        Posted at 1 November, 2013 10:22 AM Reply

        Hello Hai, Great question!Roger CPA Review just came out with a new program that gives you college credit for studying for the CPA exam! Check out this link for more information: