01 Jun Vermont CPA Exam & License Requirements
Vermont has much more flexible requirements than most states and only requires 120 credit hours and a bachelor’s degree to earn a CPA license (as well as sit for the CPA exam). However, this leniency will change on July 1, 2014 when they will require candidates to fulfill 150 credit hours.
To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students must first fulfill these qualifications and requirements:
- Minimum age: None
- U.S. Residency NOT Required
- State Residency NOT required
- Bachelor degree or above
- 120 semester units from an accredited university
- Course requirement: 30 semester units of accounting and business courses, including:
- 6 hours of financial and/or managerial accounting
- 3 hours of auditing
- 3 hours of US income tax
- 3 hours of US business law
*Special note: You may sit for the exam 60 days prior to meeting educational requirements.
**150 credit hours will be required effective July 2014.
VT CPA License Requirements
- 42 semester hours in accounting and business courses
- 1-4 years of public or non-public accounting experience, depending on whether you have a Master’s or Bachelor’s Degree
- Experience must be supervised and verified by a licensed CPA or equivalent: CPA from Australia, or CA from Australia, Canada, Ireland, and Mexico usually qualify but please check with the State Board
- Experience must be attained anytime within 4 years prior to the exam and 4 years after the exam
- Passing of the AICPA ethics exam
- Cost of course is $149 or $119 for AICPA members
Vermont CPA Exam Fees
The cost to take all four sections of the CPA exam in Vermont is $743 plus the initial $220 application fee. The re-examination registration fee varies depending on the number of sections.
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$195.35|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$176.25|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$195.35|
**Important Note: You should not apply and pay for exam sections that will not be taken within six months because your Notice to Schedule (NTS) in Vermont expires 6 months after issuance.
Additional CPA Requirements
- Pass all 4 sections of the CPA exam with a score of 75% or higher
- Complete verified accounting work experience
- Pass AICPA Ethics Exam
- Fill out and submit all required CPA license application paperwork
- Pay the CPA license application fee
VT Exam Information and Resources
For more details, please contact:
Vermont Board of Public Accountancy
Office of Professional Regulation
26 Terrace Street, Drawer 09
Montpelier, VT 05609-1106
Now that you have started the CPA exam application process, your next step is to find a CPA Review Course that fits your budget, learning style and schedule.
It can take several weeks for your application to be processed so don’t waste that valuable time waiting to hear back from your state board. If you start studying now you will get a nice jump start on the material and will be better prepared to Pass your first CPA exam!