Louisiana CPA Exam & License Requirements

In CPA Requirements Updated: November 1, 2019 You’re our #1 priority.
100% of the time.

We believe everybody should be able to make online purchases with confidence. And while our website doesn’t feature every test prep company or review course in the universe, we’re proud that the advice we offer and the information we provide is accurate, truthful, objective - and entirely free.

So how do we actually make money? It’s simple, our partners compensate us. While this may influence which products we review and write about, and where they show up on the site, it absolutely does not influence our recommendations or guidance, which are formed by hundreds of hours of research and analysis. Check out our partners here.

What’s the bottom line? We’re on your team and are passionate about helping you achieve your career goals, even if it means we don’t make a dime.

In Louisiana, you must be a state resident to sit for the CPA exam or apply for a CPA license. The requirements for licensure are fairly straightforward and follow the 150 hour rule along with 1 year of qualifying work experience.

To be eligible to sit for the CPA exam students must first fulfill these qualifications and requirements:

  1. Minimum age: None
  2. U.S. Residency NOT Required
  3. State Residency Required

Education Requirements

  1. Bachelor degree or higher
  2. 150 semester units from an accredited university or educational institution
  3. Accounting Courses: 24 semester units in undergrad level, or 21 in graduate level. Please see Louisiana Education Requirements for more details
  4. Business Courses: 24 semester units, including 3 credit hours of commercial law

*Note: Click on the Pre-evaluation Services Form if interested

LA CPA License Requirements

Education

  • Same as above

Work Experience

  • 1 year (2,000 hours) of experience under the supervision of a licensed US CPA. Please contact the State Board on the nature of experience required
  • Part-time experience can be counted
  • Experience must be gained within 4 years preceding the date of the license application

Ethics Exam

  • No Requirement

Louisiana CPA Exam Fees

The cost to take all four sections of the CPA exam in Louisiana is $743 plus the initial $130 application fee. The re-examination registration fee varies depending on the number of sections you are signing up for.

**Important Note: You should not apply and pay for exam sections that will not be taken within six months because your Notice to Schedule (NTS) in Louisiana expires 6 months after issuance.

Additional CPA Requirements

  1. Pass all 4 sections of the CPA exam with a score of 75% or higher
  2. Complete verified accounting work experience
  3. Fill out and submit all required CPA license application paperwork
  4. Pay the CPA license application fee

CT Exam Information and Resources

Louisiana CPA Exam CandidatesLouisiana CPA License Requirements

LA CPA Education Requirements

For more details, please contact:

State Board of CPAs of Louisiana

601 Poydras Street, Suite 1770
New Orleans, LA 70130
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 504-566-1244
Fax: 504-566-1252

What’s Next?

Now that you have started the CPA exam application process, your next step is to find a CPA review course that fits your budget, learning style and schedule. It can take several weeks for your application to be processed so don’t waste that valuable time waiting to hear back from your state board. If you start studying now you will get a nice jump start on the material and will be better prepared to pass your first CPA exam!
2 Comments
  • Son Nguyen
    Posted at 25 July, 2018 23:37 PM Reply

    Hello, I’m from Louisiana. I worked at a casino as a casino auditor. My managers and supervisors do not have a CPA. Soon it will be a year since I work there. Do I still meet the requirements for the CPA work require experience?

    • Bryce Welker, CPA
      Posted at 2 November, 2018 16:00 PM Reply

      Hi Son, No unfortunately that does not meet the experience requirements. You can sit for the CPA exam without any experience, but to get your license you'll need to get signed off from a CPA. From your State Board's website, " Experience is not required to sit for the CPA exam. But, you must have the necessary one (1) year of qualifying experience verified by a licensed CPA in order to obtain your CPA certificate (license). At least one year of experience must be confirmed by employers and verified by a licensed CPA who is in a position to know, that was within the four years preceding the date of the license application." Cheers, Bryce

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

    I agree to these terms.